Shoes, Glorious Shoes

25 Oct

When my family go travelling their suitcase interiors stay sparkly clean. This is due in part to the bright idea thought up by Daughter Number One several years ago. Shoe bags are the secret weapon. In fact they are not only for shoes. I use them for anything that needs to be protected or from which other things need protection. Ergo undies, laundry items, shoes, hair dryers and straightening irons, belts, books etc etc etc. Between DNO, DNT and myself we made hundreds . They are very relaxing to make and rather fetching when finished. DNO visited this week and while she was choosing a selection to sell in a local hotel we came across some appliqued but not finished.

These are not like the sock monkeys I have been appliqueing. These are individually traced, pieced, fused and machine appliqued without the aid of a digitiser. They are a labour of love and I thought you might like to see some of them.

This is my favourite style. Whilst we do not ever do two exactly the same I do rather like this one and so a few have been made in this style with different fabrics.

The Same but different.

Interestingly with three of us choosing styles and fabrics the shoes come out as shoes we would probably buy if available. DNT did quite a few of these and this one is definitely her style.

I rather like this boot.

This is another of my favourites.

This one is appropriately of a dance shoe as the idea originally came from a dancer for use by dancers.

A bright trainer.

Lots of strappy sandals.

Mustn’t leave out the men.

I also made a couple of quilts at one time. Not that I’m obsessed or anything.

I designed quilt patterns to add to the patterns available on my web site.

Remember when you are ooohing, aaahing and why?ing that these are original patterns made with loving care.  Pattern pieces produced by Spotty Chicken, pieced by Bird Brain and appliqued and finished by Speckled Hen. (Don’t ask) They really are quite addictive. If you would like one they are on the website. If you would like to make your own but would like some top notch patterns with which to do them, why not buy a quilt pattern and that will give you six applique patterns suitable for shoe bags as well as a quilt pattern. That’s Christmas sorted. Clever eh!

4 Responses to “Shoes, Glorious Shoes”

  1. Lowell Adams October 25, 2012 at 1:49 pm #

    I have been viewing your posts for several months. I like all of your work but the shoes are my favorite. I especially like the women’s shoes. I would like to get the patterns for some of them. What is the cost in US dollars.

    • quiltaholic October 25, 2012 at 2:50 pm #

      I only sell the pattern for the quilts but in effect these are 6 different shoes the same size as those on the shoe bags. If you go to my web page on http://nsaaquilting.co.uk and look under quilt patterns you will find them at the bottom. Exchange rate is about 1.5. The paypal page will tell you exactly then you can decide whether to go ahead.

  2. ladybelle October 27, 2012 at 12:53 pm #

    Clever, indeed! I’ve never thought of using variegated thread on applique.

    • quiltaholic October 27, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

      Sometimes the colour is not definite or the fabric has lots of colours so the variegated thread gets round that. The pink sandal at the top has its buckle stitched with variegated metallic thread which is fun to use. I suppose it all comes down to vision and taste.

Leave a Reply

