The Cheapskate’s Way to Unique Applique.

28 Nov

You may have noticed that patterns are expensive. They are also not always what you would choose. For instance, suppose that your child likes a particular character from literature or TV. You may not be able to get a pattern for an applique of same but you can probably find a colouring book. How obvious is that and how many people never think of it? I never have used this method but I’m considering it.

The other day I was browsing in a local shop that sells a lot of end-of-line  and remaindered stock and I found a  colouring book featuring snowmen. It is a bit late for this year but I will be making at least a snowman themed wall hanging  next year. In theory I could do it  now but I have a queue of UFOs and  refuse to allow a new project until at least some are finished.

This  book is ‘Colour with Frosty’ from www.holland-publishing.co.uk . This particular book is no longer on the site (probably why it was reduced) but there are lots more. The best place for cheap books is one of the remainder shops like The Works. If you want a closer look than the internet affords they have a store finder from your post code   and you can go along and grab an armful.

There were lots of other animals; bears and penguins for instance but these are the ones I have chosen on the snowman theme.

The Book – I am not sure  it is the actual Frosty the Snowman but that’s what it says on the tin so I’ll go with it.

DSCN2810_450x600

DSCN2815_450x600

DSCN2814_450x600

DSCN2813_450x600

DSCN2812_450x600

DSCN2811_450x600

Unless you are a McKenna Ryan fan choose pictures with large pieces and no fiddly bits. Having said that, if you see something you really like and it has lots of fiddly bits, have a go. I use the satin stitch method of attaching my appliques and I have not yet found anything too difficult, small or fiddly to deal with (even McKenna Ryan). In fact she has a beautiful new quilt with snowmen too. Have a look. If you like kits her fabrics are lovely.

If you need instructions on applique have a look at the ‘Tips and Tricks’ page on the heading at the top of this page. There are several applique projects with the basic how tos.

One note of caution. The books are someone’s copyright. If you use them for yourself I cannot see there would be a problem, although I am no expert. If you try to sell the resulting quilt, in theory you could get into copyright problems so best not to do it.

2 Responses to “The Cheapskate’s Way to Unique Applique.”

  1. toggpine November 28, 2013 at 6:15 pm #

    I have used coloring book images with good results. I have also used designs on wrapping paper and other printed media for inspiration. Remember to make “anchoring tabs” for the pieces that fit under others when you sketch out the pattern.
    I agree that for your own private use, you would probably be fine, but I’d not market them either.

    • quiltaholic November 29, 2013 at 12:53 pm #

      I would think that some very acceptable quilts could be made with this method. Also matching extras for a themed room. Some people do, however want a proper pattern and I must admit I used to be like that. ‘Needs Must’ and experience are wonderful things.

Leave a Reply

