Sock It To The Baby

12 Oct

As promised in my last blog , herewith pictures of the quilt with the girl sock monkeys. Both quilts come from appliques demonstrated in the blog before that. I divided them into two quilts. These links have links to the original digitising pages.

I decided to keep this one simple too. The appliques have enough character and a design that was too complicated might take away from them. I stayed with plain 2.5″ strips and used the leftover bits for the second border and binding. ‘Waste not, want not’ as my Mother never used to say. It is also nice and bright as only parents like pastels. Babies like bright, stimulating colours. For those that hate matching seams there are a lot less of those to contend with too.

To finish it off –  the label for the girl’s quilt from another Designs by Juju design.

The label for the boy’s quilt.

If you compare the boy’s quilt you will see that it is possible to get two entirely different quilts from the same basic designs.

 

4 Responses to “Sock It To The Baby”

  1. ladybelle October 12, 2012 at 12:11 pm #

    Both quilts turned out as cute as can be!. Not sure which one I like more. You’re right about babies liking bright colors better. Look at all the bright colored toys available.

    • quiltaholic October 12, 2012 at 1:54 pm #

      I like the look of pastels but every time I try to do something in pastels they come out bright. Must be my stash I guess.

  2. Darcie October 12, 2012 at 5:28 pm #

    What adorable quilts!!! Great job!

    • quiltaholic October 12, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

      Glad you like them. I had fun making them.

Leave a Reply

