There are Fairies at the Bottom of my Stash Box.

21 Sep

Being a bit of an  afficionado of Loralie Designs, when I saw some of her ‘Very Fairy’ panels on sale at a discount I had to have some. Then I couldn’t decide what to do with them so they were put away with the other UFO’s. This week I finally had another look and decided that I must make something with them. I am not a fan of framing a panel and leaving it at that, it seems a bit like cheating so I had to do a bit more.

As you can see, the basic panel comes with four figures at the bottom. I cut those off and all the little flowers and shoes and appliqued them on after I had stitched borders round the central panel.

The basic panel.

Cut round the figures for applique.

Choose fabrics to match.

Fix to corners with fusible web after the borders have been applied.

Satin stitch around the edges in matching colours.

A bit of a session on the quilt frame and ‘Hey Presto’.

I rather took a shine to the Very Fairy l embroideries too so I did a few of those. If you want one and can’t be bothered to do it yourself have a look at my web site on the Loralie Fairy page.  More to be added in the coming days.  They take a while but I think they are worth it.

8 Responses to “There are Fairies at the Bottom of my Stash Box.”

  1. ladybelle September 22, 2012 at 2:59 am #

    Very creative and stunning! That was some very intricate cutting out and a great job satin stitching. Love it. And I have never, ever thought of embroidering on black background! What a great idea.

  2. quiltaholic September 22, 2012 at 4:08 am #

    My best selling embroideries have been the Loralie Masquerade Ball on black. See this link.
    http://nsaaquilting.co.uk/sub_category.php?order=pro_name&cat_id=20&sub_id=106&page=3

  3. Bethany Frerichs September 22, 2012 at 4:58 am #

    What an amazing transformation from a panel to a quilt! Love what you did with it.

    • quiltaholic September 22, 2012 at 6:21 am #

      Glad you liked it. Panels can be a bit of a problem to use effectively.

  4. bug289 September 22, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

    Wow. That’s all I can say. It’s beautiful. You’ve transformed the panel into something special.

  5. Happy girl September 25, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

    Very creative work!

Leave a Reply

