The Doll Conspiracy

12 Aug

First an update on my Pirate Quilt. You may remember it. If not here is a reminder. Here is a link to one blog.   Here is another .

In it the ship is small but it occurred to me that a bigger ship on a wall hanging would also be a useful addition.

I also appiquéd the mariners compass as an alternative to an embroidery.

In a former life I made dolls and when I started quilting seriously I relegated the paraphernalia to a small section of my work area. (This small section is the size of many ‘3rd’ bedrooms in estate agent terms). I have been meaning to get in there and sort it out with the idea of trying to offload the moulds and made dolls so that I can put my frame in the room. It was only after I had done an inventory and photographed all the dolls that I realised just how much ‘stuff’ there is in there. What I really need is someone wanting to start a  doll making business who wants to buy a whole working studio. Then I just need to sell the dolls I have already made. In case you think  I am exaggerating take a look at this lot. It’s only a drop in the ocean but it’s a bit overpowering.

Kimmie mould  by Cindy Marschner Rolfe

From the Joey mould by Cindy Marschner Rolfe.

Another Joey

Angel Love by Cindy marschner Rolfe.

Theodore by Cheri Chagall with Donna Rubert 28″ body.

Christina.

Sylvie by Cheri Chagall.

Mimi by Cheri Chagall.

Crystal.

L’il Boo by Cindy Marschner Rolfe.

Lucinda

Cleo

Yvette

Ivan

Jenny

Emily

Chubbins

Sipho from Donna Rubert’s Flossie mould

June

Theodora from Theodore mould by Cheri Chagall.

Hannah Rose by Donna Rubert

Elmo

Aaron

There are some more on my web site nsaaquilting.co.uk

It’s not just the dolls or even the moulds. There are wigs, shoes, eyes, and goodness knows what else.

I  have come to the conclusion that life is too short. There are many more dolls I would like to make but I would have to live  several decades more and still be able to lift the moulds – unlikely. Then there is the quilting. So many quilts, so little time.

4 Responses to “The Doll Conspiracy”

  1. ladybelle August 13, 2012 at 5:36 pm #

    I love to make dolls, too. Yours are gorgeous. I know you won’t have any trouble selling them. I agree, life is too short to do all the things we’d like to do.

    • quiltaholic August 13, 2012 at 10:45 pm #

      Let’s hope you are right. I like them but I am biased.

  2. cindy rolfe March 21, 2013 at 11:20 pm #

    HA HA You are so right! I just finished making a southern belle gown my daughter
    and sculpting a chocolate castle cake topper for my granddaughter
    and photoshopping the heck out of some blurry-beyond-recognition photos
    … A new project peeks around every corner… always waiting to draw us in.
    Moments ago, I learned that my daughter’s friend is having a birthday party for her dog, and I found myself uttering on the way out the door…” Oh I’ll just make a cute little dress for the birthday dachshund.” Another project, another trip to Jo Ann Fabrics.
    Happy quilting to you… and thank you,
    thank you,
    thank you
    for liking my dolls
    and making them look so cute.
    Cindy Marschner Rolfe.

    • quiltaholic March 22, 2013 at 5:37 pm #

      It’s not difficult to like your dolls. I love their characters and they just are cute.
      What we really need is twice as many hours in the day and twice as long a life. Even then I expect there would still be things still to do.

Leave a Reply

