Been There, Got Several Teeshirts.

7 Jul

I don’t know whether anyone else has noticed but the variety in fabric design seems to have declined over the last few years. You may have noticed that my fabric of choice is bright and cheerful and if the colours clash a bit well it wakes me up in the mornings.

Take these fabrics I used in a Sunbonnet Sue quilt I blogged about some time ago.

Now whilst you might not want an outfit made from them, these fabrics work really well in applique. I did wonder if fabric companies are afraid to be too adventurous in case they can’t sell it, the price of cotton being what it is these days. It could be fashion, although the fabric companies by definition set  trends. It could just be the recession and general air of depression of course.  On the other hand a jazzy bit of fabric cheers me up no end.

Anyway, when fabric with a zing was available I bought it and here is one of the quilts I made with it.

This is a very good way to use up some of the smaller measures of fabric sold by retailers. There is also no reason why the sleeves could not be a different fabric. Another way of doing it would be to sew strips of fabric together or crazy patch some pieces from odd scraps. You could even use the logos from old tee-shirts or design your own and use printable fabric to make lots of miniature shirts. Only your imagination can hold you back once you start down that road.

See how it’s done? A rectangle of fabric with a neckline cut out and two more smaller rectangles for sleeves. This allows different fabric for sleeves or the same fabric in a different direction as on the striped shirt below.I used embroidery stitches to sew them on but satin stitch would be less likely to fray. It depends whether you like the ‘country’ look. As a rule I don’t but tee-shirts are allowed to fray. In fact walking down the high street I see a few holes might make them more authentic. If you are using the same fabric on the whole shirt you could just draft a full tee-shirt shape and cut it out in one piece. I would suggest you use either the three piece or the whole shirt method as a mixture might look strange. Not that I have ever tried, just making sure you think about it before committing all that fabric.

A few more.

To finish it off and draw it all together, matching corner squares.

Now tell me that didn’t cheer you up on a dismal day.

4 Responses to “Been There, Got Several Teeshirts.”

  1. Bobbie Machart July 9, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

    I love the Tee shirts. About what size are these? They look pretty small. I think I will try them. I love your blog. I think I found it from Quilter’s Last Resort a while ago.

    • quiltaholic July 9, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

      The Beauty of this design is that you can use any size. Decide how big you would like your quilt to be and use as many blocks as needed. For instance, if you wanted your finished quilt centre before borders/sashing to be 60″ x 80″ you would use 10″ finished blocks- 6 across and 8 down the quilt.(10.5″ squares allowing for seams.) You could make bigger 12″ blocks for bigger shirts. You might use 8″ for a baby quilt. Then you just draw some rectangles on paper for a pattern and place them on the squares until you find the ideal size.
      Add sashing and borders and Bob’s your Uncle.
      A variation might be to have the shirts at different levels on each square to give more of a crazy layout and add interest.
      You probably saw my dragon quilt tutorial on Quilters Last Resort.

      • Bobbie Machart July 9, 2012 at 11:35 pm #

        Thanks, it was looking more like a miniature to me. By the way, I love the Sunbonnet Sues, a favorite of mine.

        • quiltaholic July 10, 2012 at 7:30 am #

          I see what you mean about them looking like miniatures. The bit of white you can see behind the quilt is the wall of my house to put it in perspective.
          I haven’t got the patience for miniatures. I wish I had then my pile of quilts would be more controllable.
          Glad you liked the Sunbonnets. I am not generally keen on Sunbonnet Sue but I couldn’t resist the ones in Suzanne Zaruba Cirillo’s books. They have a bit more character than the usual ones.

Leave a Reply

