Eat Your Heart Out Little Green Men

24 Mar

Another UFO shot down without malice. In fact I quite enjoyed quilting this one. When finished I washed it and dried it in the dryer to see the effect. I have always shied away from washing quilts when finished but that was mainly when I did stitch in the ditch. With the amount of quilting on this one it just gets what is known as the ‘antique’ look. Putting it in the dryer enhances the look.  Mind you if you have just spent hours and money on a future  heirloom don’t take my word for it. I have a whole stack of pieced tops on which to experiment. The worst that can happen is that I use it to keep myself warm in the depths of Winter. I would hate to be responsible for a recherché bed for the dog.

The only snag is that a pile of UFOs takes up less room than a pile of finished quilts. ‘Some people are never satisfied’ I hear you say.

This is another  Kookaburra Cottage  pattern, originally pubished as a BOM. The unquilted version and another colourway are in my post  ‘Where’s Goosey Gander When You Want Him’  if you are interested. As I have said before, the  quilting adds that little extra something in the same way as the backstitch on a cross stitch picture.

Now that one is finished I am having a go at using a speed controller instead of the stitch regulator. Initial tests are promising although it would be a bit of a downer to find I preferred it to the stitch regulator when it is a seventh of the price. I have started on a quilt I am not too worried about and it seems quite easy to control, especially where ‘caterpillars’ are concerned.

Here is the control. Not the prettiest thing ever invented but who cares if it does the job.

Yes I do know it’s upside down.

I will keep you apprised of the results of the trials. A very good page to visit if you have a frame and midarm is Piecemeal Quilts it has a list of things to check and adjust and a few tips. I found it very useful.

Now for the advert.

March 30th to April 1st is the Spring Quilt Festival at Westpoint near Exeter. If you are nearby come along. It should be worth it.

14 Responses to “Eat Your Heart Out Little Green Men”

  1. Wendy Massey (@1stUniqueGifts) March 26, 2012 at 10:47 am #

    Thanks for linking up to Handmade Monday.

    I love the detail in your quilt – just lovely. Love the chickens in your header, too! Wish I was nearer and could pop into the quilt festival. Enjoy x

    • quiltaholic March 26, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

      I liked your site too. I got there via ‘The Life and Loves of a She Weevil. You have some interesting blogs on your site. Love your shoe clock too. My daughter would appreciate that, having a shoe habit.

  2. Caroline March 26, 2012 at 11:20 am #

    The quilt is fantastic, love the cow peeping at the sleeping farmer

    • quiltaholic March 26, 2012 at 1:39 pm #

      The farmer is Little Boy Blue.
      Where is the boy that looks after the sheep? Under the haystack fast asleep.

  3. Jenna March 26, 2012 at 11:55 am #

    Beautiful quilt. It must take a lot of work to make something so detailed.

    • quiltaholic March 26, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

      The pieces are quite large really, nothing too fiddly so that it doesn’t take as long as you might think. Mind you I have had a lot of practice.

  4. Pickle-Lily March 26, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

    Fabulous quilt and so much work in it. I am in awe!
    Jo x

    • quiltaholic March 26, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

      Great fun to make. Just needs time of which I have much.

  5. lululovescrochet March 26, 2012 at 5:40 pm #

    Absolutely gorgeous! xx

    • quiltaholic March 26, 2012 at 6:17 pm #

      Thanks. All compliments gratefully received.
      Your crochet is exquisite.

  6. Handbagsbyhelen March 27, 2012 at 6:44 am #

    Love your quilts. Lovely blog!

    • quiltaholic March 27, 2012 at 8:13 am #

      Glad you like it.
      I have the same problem with fabric as you mention on your blog.

  7. Jam Dalory March 27, 2012 at 4:38 pm #

    What a lovely quilt, so much detail its brilliant. x

    • quiltaholic March 27, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

      Thanks.
      I see you are giving Jane Asher a run for her money on the cake front.

Leave a Reply

