Please Put a Penny in The Old Man’s Hat

9 Dec

On Saturday I am going to take my wares to the local Christmas craft market. This involves a walk of about 50 yards so I don’t think it will be too arduous. Last year I travelled miles for absolutely no return. This year I will stay at home and support my local community. At least if I get cold I can send a runner for a large mug of something hot. I have bought myself a pair of those gloves with cut off fingers – after all I will need to be able to handle the oodles of boodle people will be handing over in return for my wonderful Christmas goodies whilst keeping my fingers warm. Well, I can hope.

I am trying a variety of things – some quilty and some not.  I am going to have a few of my dolls on view. These have been seen in the village before and I did sell quite a few through a local shop. Unfortunately when I went overseas and came back I never got back into selling them.

I shall have some of these.

This one and a couple of similar.

I thought I would also have some of my embroidered totes. Very eco-friendly in this ‘bring your own shopper’ age.

I am letting this quilt go too.

I will also be trying to sell my other Sunbonnet Sue quilts as featured in one of my early blogs. These feature —

and—-

and many more.

Maybe a couple of aprons.

Myself and a couple of willing helpers also do a rather smart line in appliquéd shoebags.

A few bags.

I will also be selling some of my patterns and kits for amongst others, ‘Jamie Plays ‘—

Cowboys.

Soldiers.

A touch of patchwork.

Bag kits.

Cot Quilt kits.

I have also been cutting fat quarters in every hue.  Just need some customers now. Keeping my fingers crossed.

If you are passing Polperro, which is very difficult, pop in. I can certainly promise you a cheerful, multicoloured stall and I might find you a mug of something hot .

2 Responses to “Please Put a Penny in The Old Man’s Hat”

  1. Karen December 10, 2011 at 4:12 am #

    It is so hard to sell at markets. Not a lot of people understand the amount of work in an item or its value. I wish you loads of good luck!

    • quiltaholic December 10, 2011 at 8:53 am #

      Don’t worry, I am not expecting too much. If I don’t sell anything I will at least have been part of the Christmas atmosphere. I live in a small village and they are turning on the Christmas lights and having Santa Claus etc so it should at least be a bit festive. I am not sure exactly where the customers are supposed to come from in the middle of Winter in a seaside village anyway.

Leave a Reply

