Sunbonnet Sue Wears The Trousers

4 Sep

Last time I mentioned Sunbonnet Sue I was overwhelmed by the number of people who came across to look. Realising how many people were interested in the little lady I decided to make another quilt featuring her. Years ago I bought a book featuring Sunbonnet Sue and Scottie both in redwork and applique. The book was written by Suzanne Zaruba Cirillo. The redwork examples are lovely but life is too short for me to go down that path. I did the applique. I took a few photographs as I was making it and will share them with you.

Although she is wearing dungarees, the whole point of this collection is that it features Sunbonnet Sue not Overall Sam and so I chose fabrics that reflect this. I usually use up my box of small pieces for applique but I decided that I would start on a new pile of fat quarters and stash pieces this time. This turned out to be a good idea as it meant I had fabric left over for the 3.5″ squares that make up the quilt. Behold the fabrics cut ready to piece.

Fabrics ready to piece.

There were 12 applique panels and I used these and a few other fabrics to make the appliques. The panels start at 11.5″ and then are trimmed to 9.5″ after appliqueing. This is because the fabric usually distorts in the applique process and this way you end up with a nice square block.

I particularly like the fabric used on these dungarees.

Sharing an Icecream

A bit of boating on the lake calls for an orange outfit.

A Fair Wind and a Foul Sea

I love the way the dog is so expressive . In each picture you can see what he is supposed to be doing. I am sure you have all seen a dog in this pose when a ball is thrown for it.

If I Bring it Back You'll Only Throw it Again.

After a bit of a run round the park a drink is called for and a handy drinking fountain fits the bill. Obviously this is on a different day as the outfit now is in shades of Autumn. Very fetching.

Boy am I Thirsty

Next day we might go for a spot of roller skating in the same park. That is if the warden doesn’t catch us.

Get Those Snazzy Pants.

Nothing like a skipping rope to drive a dog to distraction.

Isn't This Exciting.

There’s nothing like a shower on a hot day.

Cooling Off

Having soaked the ground the way to keep your dungarees out of the mud is to wear stilts.

Head in the Clouds

Another day might see us on the beach, digging for treasure.

It Must be Here Somewhere

On the way home a turn on the swings.

I'm Feeling a Bit Queasy

At home for a few minutes with the blocks.

How many More Can I get On Here?

Finally a refreshing pot of tea for two – bliss.

Tea for two

Having finished the 12 blocks the rest of the fabric is cut into 3.5″ squares of prints and white and arranged as below.

Strips

Joined into 9 Patch

The panels are then alternated with the 9 patch blocks and stitched together.

Alternate Panels and Blocks

Then the quilt centre is complete.

Centre

Add a border and we’re ready for quilting.

With Border and Ready to Quilt

 

I have now finished the quilt and bound it so here is a photo of it complete.

One with the backing showing. This for a girl but you could do a boy’s one with Overall Sam in more masculine colours.

 

15 Responses to “Sunbonnet Sue Wears The Trousers”

  1. Lala September 5, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

    OMG! The finished quilt looks fab. Great arrangement and lovely fabrics.

    • quiltaholic September 5, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

      We aim to please. There has been a lot of traffic to see Sunbonnet Sue in this and my last Sunbonnet blog. She must be popular.

  2. CorneliaVa September 6, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

    If it were in my power to do so, I would award you the INNOVATOR OF THE YEAR award! Great job!

    • quiltaholic September 6, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

      You are very kind but I did have some inspiring patterns to work with.

  3. Twuble September 6, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

    Outdone yourself on the colour choices again. Amazing, that border really finishes it off. Love it!

    • quiltaholic September 6, 2011 at 6:04 pm #

      Glad you like it. I enjoyed making it.

      • kathy osterby September 6, 2011 at 6:23 pm #

        I love Sue and your quilt is the first one I’ve seen putting her in this era. Is there a book of patterns available? I collect Sue patterns and have many from books and magazines.

        • quiltaholic September 6, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

          In case anybody else would like to know where I got the patterns from. the book is called ‘Sunbonnet Sue and Scottie Too’ by Suzanne Zaruba Cirillo. I know it is available at Amazon both in USA and UK.

          • Eva Wiebe September 7, 2011 at 5:05 am #

            Your quilt is just darling. I always love Sunbonnet Sue.
            Thanks for the info about the book.

  4. monabroad September 8, 2011 at 6:18 am #

    This is terrific! The chosen fabrics are just the cutest! Is this done with a satin stitch on your sewing machine or is it an embroidery/applique application? Whichever, I’m am green with envy over your skills. And you know I adore Sunny Sue and all her friends!

    • quiltaholic September 8, 2011 at 8:43 am #

      It is just straightforward satin stitch done on an ordinary sewing machine. Try it yourself, it’s not that difficult. You don’t know what you can do until you try.

  5. Laurie September 8, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

    That is the best Sunbonnet Sue quilt I have ever seen! I’m not a huge Sue fan, but your quilt is brilliant.

    • quiltaholic September 8, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

      I wasn’t much of a fan until I discovered these patterns. I am absolutely amazed at the interest this one has created. I have just finished another and will be blogging on that one soon. Watch this space.

  6. deb September 17, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

    What a fun quilt!! I love this sue quilt as a tomboy and she has my dog I had a bigger version but really reminds me of the fun I used to have with my pooch in my Sue pants. Great work on your machine applique you must really have a thread collection

    • quiltaholic September 17, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

      I do have a thread collection. I lived for so long in places where I could not get anything that I always took everything with me. The habit has continued. It makes life easier though as I always have all the colours I need.

Leave a Reply

