Meet Molly Moo Cow

24 Jul

Today, Saturday I have been knee deep in cheese again. Not that I actually had to do anything but I still felt part of the process so to speak. I went down to the cheesemaking bit of the cellar to get the watering can as the flowers out front were looking a tad wilted and it looks like a mini dairy. There are not actually any cows there but there are four different cheeses being pressed as we speak. very impressive. In fact I began to feel quite like a farmer’s wife and it put me in mind of my ‘Funky Farmyard’Quilt design.

This evolved from some sketches I made and then I saw the Makower farm fabric and had to have it and the Funky Farmyard was born.

Meet Molly the Moo Cow, Horace the Horse, Sadie the Sheep, Denzil the Duck, Ronald and Rabina the Rabbits and Percy the Pig.

On his own Gerry the Goat.

The pattern has a 6″ border but I just had to use the Makower border fabric which is actually 10″ so the quilt is a very large single and should hang down to the floor on a single bed. The Goat applique is on a play mat. I think the playmat is a good thing to have around with a baby . If you use a hiloft wadding so that it is soft it makes a very good surface on which to lay the baby when small and also to lay over it when asleep say in the car or on a picnic. In short a very useful bit of katundu.

Whilst I was making up the quilt it occured to me that the designs would make good wall hangings too. They could be used to decorate a child’s room in addition to the quilt.

Denzil and Daisy

They are quick and easy to make and great fun. As you can see you can put on multiple Ducks or just the one and you could put on as many flowers as you like. Using a plain fabric changes the whole look of the design. You could also combine patterned and plain for yet another look. If you would like the pattern or kit go to nsaaquilting.co.uk. If you like the fabric I have some fat quarters in it. At the moment I have kits in Pig, Duck and Rabbit although I could make up one of the others if it appeals. Just email me a  info@nsaaquilting.co.uk.

I made these in the same way as described in the last post, using a couple of pieces of greaseproof paper and the template. All my applique patterns have reversed pieces so that you don’t have to mess about with a light box. I got quite distressed in sunny countries watching people trying to trace pattern pieces whilst holding the original up to a window. Louvred windows were a particular challenge. You can of course still use a light box to make it easier to trace the pieces onto the fusible webbing but they are the right way round to trace onto the webbing. The use of the lightbox is one of the reasons I only produce single sided patterns. I find it very frustrating to trace pattern pieces over a lightbox with the pieces on the other side showing through. Paper doesn’t cost that much and the printing costs are the same however you look at it. To recap; having traced the reversed pieces onto the fusible webbing and cut round them roughly, I iron them onto the reverse side of the fabric to be used. They are then cut out on the traced lines and the paper backing removed. This leaves a glue surface which allows the pieces, now the right way round, to be placed onto the background fabric and ironed on. This fuses them onto the background and keeps them in place whilst they are stitched.

Instead of putting them straight on to the background I make the appliques up first. I lay a piece of baking paper over the template which shows the finished applique. I then place each piece down starting with those that will be underneath and use the point of the iron to tack the pieces in place. When I am satisfied with the result I put another piece of greaseproof over the applique and press quickly, just long enough for them to fuse together. When cool the applique is carefully removed from the greaseproof paper and placed on the background. Using a steam iron it is then fused on. Follow with your choice of stitching.

Simples!

You can use a special applique sheet but I don’t get on with them I prefer the paper. ‘Horses for Courses ‘ as they say.

As a finale let me now introduce the Rabbits.I really Like the Rabbits.

8 Responses to “Meet Molly Moo Cow”

  1. Connie July 24, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

    What cute patterns! Your applique is beautiful!

    • quiltaholic July 24, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

      Thanks. I’m glad you like it. I enjoy designing and making quilts, especially applique although I don’t really enjoy the quilting bit. My dream would be to do all the tops and let someone else quilt them. Not very likely unfortunately.
      Angela

  2. Willit Neverend August 13, 2014 at 4:38 am #

    Cute. I particularly like the idea of using these blocks as wall hangings.

    • quiltaholic August 13, 2014 at 7:55 am #

      Thanks. When I do a design I try out as many different uses as possible. Not that I ever use them. They stay in a pile ready for quilt shows. This one has been quite popular. It competes with my pirate pattern https://quiltaholic.wordpress.com/2012/06/

  3. Deana August 13, 2014 at 6:12 pm #

    I like Gerry the Goat and especially the border around him.

    • quiltaholic August 13, 2014 at 9:03 pm #

      That is one of those fabrics I wish I had ordered more of.
      Gerry is a sort of a play mat as he is big enough to put a baby on.

  4. Anita Amodeo August 14, 2014 at 8:55 pm #

    Your quilt is adorable…love the rabbits!!

Leave a Reply

